



The Main Street Academy

Minutes

Governing Board Meeting

Date and Time

Friday June 13, 2025 at 6:00 PM

Location

The Main Street Academy 2861 Lakeshore Drive College Park, GA 30337

Directors Present

Chanel Recasner, Kanetha Stephens, Kenya Morris, Lisa Bentley-Whieldon, Michael Glanton, Shameka Smith, Tangie Warrior

Directors Absent

Damion Dunn, Tangi Bush, Esq.

Ex Officio Members Present

Dr. Chaddrick Owes

Non Voting Members Present

Dr. Chaddrick Owes

I. Opening Items

A. Record Attendance

В.

Call the Meeting to Order

Chanel Recasner called a meeting of the board of directors of The Main Street Academy to order on Friday Jun 13, 2025 at 6:10 PM.

C. Approval of the Agenda

Shameka Smith made a motion to approve June 2025 Governing Board Meeting agenda as published.

Kanetha Stephens seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** to approve the motion.

D. Approve Minutes from 5.27.2025 Governing Board Meeting

Kanetha Stephens made a motion to approve the minutes from Governing Board Meeting on 05-27-25.

Lisa Bentley-Whieldon seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** to approve the motion.

E. Public Comment

No pubic comment via email or on the phone

II. Staff Reports/Updates

A. Executive Director's updates

Dr. Chaddwick Owes presented Executive Director Updates

- State Charter Board met 6/13/2025 to renew our 3-year charter renewal for TMSA; probationary status given by Fulton County schools removed.
- Verbiage will be changed in contract to state that TMSA will be compared to area schools (S. Fulton) vs. all of Fulton County
- Kudos given to Middle School scores

III. President's Report

A. Updates from the Governing Board Chair

Mrs. Chanel Recasner presented President's Report

• Thanked Governing Board for the opportunity to serve as Board Chair for the past 2 years.

IV. Unfinished Business

A.

Unfinished Business

No unfinished business for June 2025 meeting

V. New Business

A. Election of New Board members

- Prospective board members introductions
- Current Governing Board discussions of prospective board members

Chanel Recasner made a motion to vote on prospective candidates to serve on TMSA governing board beginning July 2025 for 3 year term.

Tangie Warrior seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** to approve the motion.

Chanel Recasner made a motion to vote for candidate for Sharmaine Mercer to serve on TMSA governing board beginning July 2025 for 3-year term.

Tangie Warrior seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** to approve the motion.

Roll Call

Kanetha Stephens Aye Damion Dunn Absent Kenya Morris Aye Chanel Recasner Aye Michael Glanton Ave **Tangie Warrior** Aye Lisa Bentley-Whieldon Aye Shameka Smith Ave Tangi Bush, Esq. Absent

Chanel Recasner made a motion to vote for candidate for Yvon King to serve on TMSA governing board beginning July 2025 for 3-year term.

Tangie Warrior seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** to approve the motion.

Roll Call

Shameka Smith Aye Tangi Bush, Esq. Absent **Tangie Warrior** Aye Kanetha Stephens Aye Michael Glanton Aye Chanel Recasner Aye Damion Dunn Absent Kenya Morris Aye Lisa Bentley-Whieldon Aye

Chanel Recasner made a motion to vote for candidate for Bernadette Mitchell to serve on TMSA governing board beginning July 2025 for 3-year term.

Tangie Warrior seconded the motion.

The motion did not carry.

Roll Call

Lisa Bentley-Whieldon No Kenya Morris Tangi Bush, Esq. Absent Michael Glanton Abstain Kanetha Stephens No Shameka Smith No **Tangie Warrior** No Chanel Recasner No **Damion Dunn** Absent

Chanel Recasner made a motion to vote for candidate for C. Jade Rutland to serve on TMSA governing board beginning July 2025 for 3-year term.

Shameka Smith seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** to approve the motion.

Roll Call

Shameka Smith Aye **Tangie Warrior** Aye Michael Glanton Aye Kanetha Stephens Aye Lisa Bentley-Whieldon Aye Kenya Morris Aye Damion Dunn Absent Chanel Recasner Aye Tangi Bush, Esq. Absent

B. Nomination and Election of 2025-2026 Board Leadership and Committee chairs

Current Board members vote for Board Leadership and Committe chairs

Results

- · Board Chair Ms. Kanetha Stephens
- Vice Chair Mrs. Tangi Bush
- Secretary Ms. Sharmaine Mercer
- Treasurer Tangie Warrior
- · Academic and School Performance Committee Chair Ms. Yvon King
- Governance Committe Chair Mrs. Tangie Bush
- Finance Committee Mrs. Tangi Bush

VI. Closing Items

A. Adjourn Meeting

There being no further business to be transacted, and upon motion duly made, seconded and approved, the meeting was adjourned at 7:18 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Chanel Recasner