



Veritas Preparatory Charter School

Minutes

Annual Meeting

Date and Time Friday June 28, 2019 at 8:15 AM

Location

Veritas Prep Charter School 1st Floor Conference Room or Dial-In Number: 866-848-2216, Conference Code: 7783935205, Leader Code: 2356

Trustees Present

A. Mendelson, C. Alves, D. Ford, D. Janes, G. Moody, J. Crowell, L. Doherty, M. Landon (remote), M. Sweet

Trustees Absent D. Fuller, R. Sela, T. Gabinetti, T. Moran

Guests Present

R. Romano

I. Opening Items

A. Record Attendance and Guests

B. Call the Meeting to Order

R. Romano called a meeting of the board of trustees of Veritas Preparatory Charter School to order on Friday Jun 28, 2019 at 8:20 AM.

С.

Approve Minutes - April

M. Sweet made a motion to approve minutes from the Board Meeting on 04-26-19 Board Meeting on 04-26-19.

L. Doherty seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** unanimously to approve the motion.

Roll Call

A. Mendelson	Aye
M. Sweet	Aye
D. Fuller	Absent
R. Sela	Absent
M. Landon	Aye
J. Crowell	Aye
D. Ford	Aye
T. Gabinetti	Absent
C. Alves	Aye
L. Doherty	Aye
T. Moran	Absent
D. Janes	Aye
G. Moody	Aye

D. Approve Minutes - May

A. Mendelson made a motion to approve minutes from the Board Meeting on 05-24-19 Board Meeting on 05-24-19.

L. Doherty seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** unanimously to approve the motion.

Roll Call

D. Ford	Aye
R. Sela	Absent
M. Sweet	Aye
A. Mendelson	Aye
T. Gabinetti	Absent
T. Moran	Absent
G. Moody	Aye
D. Janes	Aye
J. Crowell	Aye
M. Landon	Aye
D. Fuller	Absent
L. Doherty	Aye
C. Alves	Aye

II. Executive Director Report

A. Approval of Amendment Request - letter of intent due Aug 1

L. Doherty made a motion to authorize executive director Rachel Romano to submit the amendment request on their behalf to expand the charter to serve grades 9-12 with a seat expansion of up to 400 and to work with the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to make any minor technical changes to the amendment submitted for approval if such changes are necessary to meet the requirements of statute or regulations, and are codified in Department guidance that was not adhered to in our submission.

D. Ford seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** unanimously to approve the motion.

Roll Call

D. Ford	Aye
T. Moran	Absent
R. Sela	Absent
C. Alves	Aye
D. Janes	Aye
L. Doherty	Aye
M. Sweet	Aye
D. Fuller	Absent
J. Crowell	Aye
G. Moody	Aye
M. Landon	Aye
A. Mendelson	Aye
T. Gabinetti	Absent

B. Organizational Capacity and Planning

Rachel shared an update on grants. She is submitting a proposal to the Barr Foundation to support the planning and design of a high school. These funds will support the Director of Talent position and other capacity building efforts to prepare for high school expansion.

III. Finance

A. FY20 Operating Budget

A. Mendelson made a motion to approve the FY20 budget as presented.

G. Moody seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** unanimously to approve the motion.

Roll Call

- C. Alves Aye
- M. Sweet Aye
- G. Moody Aye
- D. Fuller Absent
- D. Ford Aye
- T. Gabinetti Absent

Roll Call

L. Doherty	Ave
•	5
A. Mendelson	Ауе
M. Landon	Aye
R. Sela	Absent
J. Crowell	Aye
D. Janes	Aye
T. Moran	Absent

B. Monthly Financials

IV. Governance

A. Annual Meeting: Approval of Trustees, Officers and Committees

M. Sweet made a motion to approve Robert Martin to a three year term on the board of trustees effective JUly 1.

L. Doherty seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** unanimously to approve the motion.

Roll Call

- T. Gabinetti Absent
- J. Crowell Aye
- D. Janes Aye
- C. Alves Aye
- R. Sela Absent
- T. Moran Absent
- D. Fuller Absent
- M. Landon Aye
- M. Sweet Aye
- D. Ford Aye
- L. Doherty Aye
- A. Mendelson Aye
- G. Moody Aye

A. Mendelson made a motion to approve the recommendation of the Governance Committee that the following individuals be nominated for an additional three (3) year term on the Board of Trustees beginning on July 1, 2019: a. Judith Crowell b. Matthew Landon c. Rebecca Sela d. Dale Janes.

D. Ford seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** unanimously to approve the motion.

Roll Call

- L. Doherty Aye
- D. Janes Aye
- R. Sela Absent
- A. Mendelson Aye
- J. Crowell Aye

Roll Call

C. Alves	Aye
M. Sweet	Aye
D. Ford	Aye
T. Moran	Absent
T. Gabinetti	Absent
D. Fuller	Absent
M. Landon	Aye

G. Moody Aye

A. Mendelson made a motion to approve the recommendation of the Governance Committee that the following individuals be nominated for the respective office listed below, for a one (1) year term beginning July 1, 2019 (the number of prior years served in such position is set forth (in parentheses) a. Chairman: Dale Janes (0) b. Vice-Chairman: Mike Sweet (0) c. Treasurer: Lisa Doherty (2) d. Secretary: Rebecca Sela (2).

D. Ford seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** unanimously to approve the motion.

Roll Call

- R. Sela Absent
- D. Fuller Absent
- A. Mendelson Aye
- G. Moody Aye
- L. Doherty Aye
- M. Landon Aye
- T. Moran Absent
- M. Sweet Aye
- D. Janes Aye
- T. Gabinetti Absent
- C. Alves Aye
- J. Crowell Aye
- D. Ford Aye

M. Sweet made a motion to approve the recommendation of the Governance Committee that the committees be staffed as follows: A. Finance Committee. The following Board members shall serve on the Finance Committee: Lisa Doherty, Chair; Matthew Landon; Denise Ford; Anthony Gabinetti; Robert Martin. B. Academic Achievement. The following Board members shall serve on the Academic Achievement Committee: Rebecca Sela, Chair; Michael Sweet; Dale Janes; Judy Crowell; Greg Moody; Ann Erchetti. C. Governance Committee: The following Board members shall serve on the Governance Committee (subject however, further vote of such committee per the By Laws): David Fuller, Chair; Aaron Mendelson; Tom Moran.

D. Ford seconded the motion.

The motion did not carry.

Rachel reminded trustees to complete financial disclosure and conflict of interest training.

By-Laws

A. Mendelson made a motion to approve the amended and restated bylaws as presented.

D. Janes seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** unanimously to approve the motion.

Roll Call

- M. Sweet Aye
- T. Moran Absent
- C. Alves Aye
- T. Gabinetti Absent
- D. Ford Aye
- R. Sela Absent
- G. Moody Aye
- D. Fuller Absent
- J. Crowell Aye
- D. Janes Aye
- A. Mendelson Aye
- L. Doherty Aye
- M. Landon Aye

This has been an ongoing project with changes to DESE requirements prompting the original revision. Mike Sweet has worked with outside counsel to revise these bylaws and different versions have been vetted by the governance committee and the board over the past year. We feel confident with the current version and will submit to DESE for their approval.

V. Closing Items

A. Adjourn Meeting

A. Mendelson made a motion to adjourn the meeting.

G. Moody seconded the motion.

The board **VOTED** unanimously to approve the motion.

Roll Call

L. Doherty	Aye
M. Sweet	Aye
D. Fuller	Absent
T. Gabinetti	Absent
G. Moody	Aye
J. Crowell	Aye
T. Moran	Absent
D. Ford	Aye
C. Alves	Aye
M. Landon	Aye
D. Janes	Aye
A. Mendelson	Aye
R. Sela	Absent

There being no further business to be transacted, and upon motion duly made, seconded and approved, the meeting was adjourned at 9:20 AM.

Respectfully Submitted, R. Romano